

To: Members of the County Council

Date:	7 October 2020
Direct Dial:	01824706141
e-mail:	democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the COUNTY COUNCIL to be held at 10.00 am on TUESDAY, 13 OCTOBER 2020 in VIA WEBEX.

PLEASE NOTE: DUE TO THE CURRENT RESTRICTIONS ON TRAVEL AND THE REQUIREMENT FOR SOCIAL DISTANCING THIS MEETING WILL NOT BE HELD AT ITS USUAL LOCATION. THIS WILL BE A REMOTE MEETING BY VIDEO CONFERENCE AND NOT OPEN TO THE PUBLIC.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

AGENDA

1 APOLOGIES

2 **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST** (Pages 5 - 6)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3 APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR OF COUNTY COUNCIL

Due to the coronavirus response Welsh Government passed emergency legislation enabling councils to postpone the annual meeting. In recognition of the difficulties caused by remote meetings that emergency legislation also permits Councils to extend the tenure of office holders until May 2021 if desired. It is proposed, with their agreement, that the Chair and Vice Chair should continue in office until May 2021 when it should be possible to hold an annual meeting with the appropriate level of ceremony. This would allow the incoming office holders to have a full year in office when it is hoped that circumstances will allow for the holding of civic events.

4 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

5 MINUTES (Pages 7 - 14)

To receive the minutes of the meeting of County Council held on 25 February 2020 (copy attached).

6 TACKLING CLIMATE AND ECOLOGICAL CHANGE IN COUNCIL DECISION MAKING (Pages 15 - 46)

To consider a report by the Climate Change Programme Manager on the proposed amendment to the Council's Constitution to support the Council in having regard to tackling climate and ecological change when making decisions (copy attached).

7 ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REVIEW 2019 TO 2020 (Pages 47 - 146)

To consider a report by the Strategic Planning Team Manager and the Strategic Planning and Performance Team Leader to provide information regarding the Council's progress in delivering Corporate Plan outcomes as at quarter 4, 2019 to 2020 and quarter 1, 2020 to 2021 (copy attached).

8 ANNUAL REPORT OF THE COUNCIL'S SCRUTINY COMMITTEES 2019/2020 (Pages 147 - 182)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Co-ordinator for Council to consider the Annual Report of the Scrutiny Committees for 2019/2020 (copy attached).

9 ANNUAL REVIEW OF POLITICAL BALANCE AND APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINY CHAIRS (Pages 183 - 196)

To consider a report by the Democratic Services Manager seeking decisions on Committee related issues (copy attached).

10 COMMITTEE TIMETABLE 2021 (Pages 197 - 214)

To consider a report from the Democratic Services Manager and Committee Administrator to approve a Committee Timetable for 2021 (copy attached).

11 NOTICE OF MOTION (Pages 215 - 216)

Council to consider a Notice of Motion by Councillor Huw Hilditch-Roberts (copy attached).

12 NOTICE OF MOTION (Pages 217 - 218)

Council to consider a Notice of Motion by Councillor Joe Welch (copy attached).

13 NOTICE OF MOTION (Pages 219 - 220)

Council to consider a Notice of Motion by Councillor Paul Penlington (copy attached).

14 COUNTY COUNCIL FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 221 - 222) To consider the Council's forward work programme (copy attached).

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Councillor Meirick Lloyd Davies (Chair)

Mabon ap Gwynfor Brian Blakelev Joan Butterfield Jeanette Chamberlain-Jones Ellie Chard Ann Davies Gareth Davies Hugh Evans Peter Evans Bobby Feeley Rachel Flynn Tony Flynn Huw Hilditch-Roberts Martvn Holland Hugh Irving **Brian Jones** Pat Jones **Tina Jones** Gwyneth Kensler Geraint Lloyd-Williams **Richard Mainon** Christine Marston

Barry Mellor Melvyn Mile Bob Murray Merfyn Parry Paul Penlington Pete Prendergast **Arwel Roberts** Anton Sampson Peter Scott Glenn Swingler Andrew Thomas **Rhys Thomas Tony Thomas** Julian Thompson-Hill Graham Timms Joe Welch **Cheryl Williams David Williams Eryl Williams** Huw Williams Emrys Wynne Mark Young

Councillor Alan James (Vice-Chair)

COPIES TO:

Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils